Cindi Chance Award

The Cindi Chance Award
Recognition of Significant Contributions to 
Quality Educator Preparation in Georgia
Georgia Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (GACTE)


About the Award

The CINDI CHANCE Award recognizes outstanding contributions to teacher education through distinguished service to the teacher education community.


Selection Criteria

The Chance Award is given to a person or persons who have made exceptional contributions to GACTE or to a national or state organization involved in teacher education.

The award typically is presented to a single individual, although under exceptional circumstances and with the approval of the GACTE Executive Board, it may be awarded to multiple individuals; to an organization; or to a school, college, or department of education.  It is preferred that the award be given to persons, organizations, or institutions that hold membership in GACTE, but membership is not required.

The Chance Award is presented annually, but the award committee may defer the award in any given year; however, it may not be deferred for more than a single year.


Submission Requirements

A letter of nomination must describe how the nominee/nominees fulfills/fulfill the selection criteria.  A copy of the nominee’s/nominees’ curriculum vitae/curricula vitae must also be included with the nomination.


Previous Recipients of the Cindi Chance Award:

2012–Inaugural Year, Cindi Chance, GACTE Executive Director, Emeritus Faculty, and Dean Georgia Southern University
2013–Carl Martray, Dean Emeritus, Tift College of Education, Mercer University
2014— William B. Ware
2015— Don Livingston, Professor and Chair, Department of Education, LaGrange College
2016— Bob Michael, Dean and Professor, North Georgia College and Associate Vice Chancellor, University System of Georgia
2017— (to be awarded spring 2018)

Leave a comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Georgia Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (GACTE) is an affiliate of the American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education (AACTE). The views expressed on this website are the views of GACTE.